Tree Lined Roads and Magical Light

One of the things that I love most about where we live is the trees.  Specifically the way almost all the roads (in the countryside especially) are lined with tall, stately poplars.  They are spectacular in any season, but they especially shine in the fall.  The leaves turn golden, the light is golden, and this makes for magic!

Last year we bought a scooter, which has allowed me to get out and explore all sorts of places, but unfortunately, it was too late to capture all the fall beauty.  So this fall, I have been loving getting out and driving around, getting lost, and just wandering around, finding magical places!

Here are some of my favourite places and moments from this fall so far…

2015-11-01_0001

A woman drives her cart down a spectacular tree lined road.  I found this road a week or so ago, and instantly fell in love!  It is just so beautiful.

2015-11-01_0002

This little guy was so cute sitting there, looking like he was ready to go for a drive!  And I love the glowing light and shadows beside and behind him.

2015-11-01_0003

When I saw this beam of light, and then saw this shepherdess coming with her flock of sheep, I knew this was a moment I had to capture!  Absolute magic!!

2015-11-01_0004

And I love the drama of the shadows across the road.

2015-11-01_0005

Darkness and light.  Mystery.  Drama.

2015-11-01_0006

A perfect autumn scene.

2015-11-01_0007

I found this road when I was out driving around a few days ago.  I got completely lost, so I don’t know that I’ll ever find this place again, but it was lovely.  It was so quiet.  I sat there for almost 10 minutes, and only 3 or 4 scooters went past, which is very unusual.  It was lovely to just sit there in the silence, with these massive trees towering above me, soaking it all in.

2015-11-01_0008

A boy, on his way home from school, comes walking around the corner.

2015-11-01_0009Wow.  Such drama.  Such mystery.  Darkness, with hints of light, and then…the light at the end of the tunnel.  Lots of symbolism for life in this picture.  So often we feel like we’re walking through darkness, don’t we?  With just bits of light shining in once in a while.  And then, finally, we see the light at the end of the tunnel…

Leave a Reply

