Hiking Discovery

Yesterday, my family and I went hiking.  We didn’t know where to go, but had a few ideas.  Plan A fell through…we couldn’t find the road to get to where we wanted to go.  Plan B was to just drive til we found something interesting.  Plan B it was!  So we drove awhile until we found a spot that looked promising.  From the road we could see some low mountains and what looked like it might be a bit of a path.  So we parked the car and headed for the hills.  Well were we in for a surprise!  As we walked, we made the most amazing discoveries!  Amazing rock structures surrounded us.  It was incredibly beautiful.  Every twist and turn led to a new view and new rock formations.  Here we were, in the middle of nowhere, at a random stop, and THIS is what we found?!  Incredible!  This was just “random” beauty…not a national park or famous hiking spot…just a spot we “happened” to choose.  What a beautiful place we live in!  What a gift to get to experience such beauty.

So…my boys took off to explore on their own.  My older daughter and husband headed in another direction while I stayed with my youngest daughter.  Periodically we all re-connected to check in and share our discoveries.  And I, of course, documented it all with my camera.  Here are some of the gorgeous views we experienced…

2014-12-18_0003

This spot reminded me of the famous Antelope Canyon in the United States.  I’ve never been there, but have certainly seen lots of images of it.  This place was a lot different, but the sweeping, swooping curves of the rock had its similarities.

 

2014-12-18_0001

Some close ups of the rock structures we saw.

 

2014-12-18_0007

Success!  My son.

 

2014-12-18_0006

Lovely sweeping lines and curves in the rocks.

 

2014-12-18_0005

Incredible.  Such amazing structures.

 

2014-12-18_0002

 

More interesting rock formations.

 

2014-12-18_0009

Sunset on an abandoned brick factory at the end of our hike.

2014-12-18_0010My favourite image of the day.  My daughter hikes an opposing ridge as the sun sets.  Gorgeous!

3 comments on “Hiking Discovery

    • You’re very welcome! Glad you liked them! I was just reading your blog now and was enjoying your description of beijiu. 🙂 I haven’t tried it, but have seen people drink it and can’t say it looks all that appealing!!

Leave a Reply

