The Importance (or not?) of a Photography Project

I have been doing a lot of thinking about my photography lately.  I love photography and can’t imagine not doing it, but lately, I feel a little aimless.  Do you ever feel that way?  Like you’re not sure what you want to photograph?  There are so many options, and there are so many things that I enjoy photographing, but that can make me feel like I lack focus or direction.  I do a lot of reading on blogs and articles and such, about photography, and so many photographers have a project, a theme that they work on regularly.  A body of work all on one subject.  And I wonder if I should have one.  Maybe that would give me the focus I am looking for.  But what would I choose for my project?  That is the question.  Or do I even need a project?  Maybe I’m just going through a little “slump” and it will pass.  Because I do enjoy variety…

I do have some ideas of a few things I could possibly do a project on, but then I get a little nervous and wonder if I will feel “hemmed in” by focusing so exclusively on one thing.  (Although I realize that I could still shoot other things! :))

Anyways, thanks for listening to my rambling thoughts. 🙂  If you have any advice or insight into the subject of photography projects, please leave a comment below.  I’d love to know what others do or think about this subject.  Do you have a project you work on regularly on one theme or subject?  Do you find it helpful?  Or do you just shoot whatever interests you?

For now, here are some photographs I’ve been working on lately.  I’ve been on a real portrait kick lately, and have been loving shooting photographs of my daughter.  Here are some of my recent favourites…

2013-10-30_0001 2013-10-30_0002 2013-10-30_0003 2013-10-30_0004 2013-10-30_0005

 

2 comments on “The Importance (or not?) of a Photography Project

  1. I have not done a photography project yet.. The only thing I do know is that I love love love taking portraits. I have thought about taking on a photography project to expand my horizons but the only subject that comes to mind is portraiture. The project that I was thinking about trying consisted of shooting a portrait of my wife and family members each and every day for a year :-).. I must say that these are very beautiful portraits of your daughter and you will treasure these photos when she is no longer living in your home.

    • I love taking portraits too. There’s something really wonderful about being able to capture “the essence” of a person, or on a totally different take…to create a look or atmosphere or feeling with a portrait. That’s what I’ve been enjoying doing with my daughter. I have an idea in mind ahead of time what I am wanting to create, and then I direct her accordingly. So it is a collaboration. Really fun! I enjoy that a lot. But I also really enjoy street photography, which is totally different! No direction, just capturing moments as they happen. But also great fun! So maybe I need multiple projects! 🙂
      I agree that these will be great memories for years into the future…I keep telling her SHE will value them when she’s older too, but maybe that’s not true…maybe it is just me who will cherish them forever! 🙂
      Go for your project! Keep me posted! 🙂

Leave a Reply

