Sigma, Not my Favourite Lens

I recently went walking with my camera, as usual, but I was feeling lazy.  I didn’t want to take my whole bag with me, but I wanted the versatility of different focal length lenses…so what to do?!  I decided to put my Sigma 28-300mm lens on my camera and that would cover all my bases.  If I wanted to shoot wide, I could.  If I wanted to take a close-up, I could.  Portrait?  Done.  It seemed like the best choice.

Until I came home and looked at my images.

And then I remembered.

I remembered why I never use this lens!  Because I don’t LIKE this lens, that’s why!

Why don’t I like it?

I find all the images I shoot with this lens are soft.  Especially portraits.  They are never crisp and sharp, even when my focusing is bang on.

Here are some of the portraits that I shot with it.  Do you see how they are soft, especially in the eyes?

2013-09-21_0001

2013-09-21_0002

2013-09-21_0003

Now compare those to this one shot with my Canon 85mm.  See how sharp the eyes are.  Beautiful!

2013-06-06_020

For awhile I thought that the photos from this lens were only bad if I shot indoors, in low light, but these were shot outside…in the daylight.  Granted, it was early morning, so perhaps it is partially a low light issue.  But still.  These look muddy and soft.  Very disappointing.

I don’t find the scenic/environmental/landscape shots to be as bad as the portraits.  In fact some of them are quite lovely…2013-09-21_0004 2013-09-21_0005 2013-09-21_0006 2013-09-21_0007 This one is my favourite from the other day.  I love the light:

2013-09-21_0008

But all  in all, it was disappointing going through these images after the shoot.  I just can’t take the chance of using this lens if I want sharp images.  I’ve had this lens for years now, and I have to say, I have disliked it from the first time I used it.  For years, I thought something was wrong with me and my shooting, because my images were always soft.  Until I got some good Canon lenses.  And then I realized it was my lens.  Not me!

So, I don’t think I will be using this lens again.  It just isn’t worth it.

Next time, I’ll just take my bag.

 

What about you?  Have you used Sigma lenses?  What has your experience been?  Did I just get a “dud”?  I know some people love them.  Unfortunately, my experience has not been the greatest.  But I’d love to hear from you…Feel free to share below!

3 comments on “Sigma, Not my Favourite Lens

  1. LOL.. I know the lens that you are talking about and it lets just say it is not the best portrait lens but it surely is not the worst. I have the canon 24-70 and a few other Canon lenses but my best portrait lens is actually the Sigma 85mm 1.4. That lens rarely leaves my camera and I am so happy I got it for a steal of $750. I would highly recommend this lens for portraiture. I literally read over 30 comparison reviews between this lens and 85MM’s that Canon had and almost all of them agreed that the Sigma was the best. I think only the 85mm 1.2 by Canon got a higher rating.

    • Interesting. Yeah, I originally bought the Sigma lens from a friend who had really liked it, but I think she used it for more outdoor landscape, scenery type work, so quite a different application. I don’t like it for portraits. But I agree, I have an 85mm…I think mine is the 1.8, and I love it too. (Mine’s a Canon). Now I’m like you…it rarely comes off my camera when I’m doing portraits…the bokeh on it is just gorgeous!! I love it! 🙂 But interesting that the Sigma had the best ratings! I have heard good things about Sigma from other people, so I know they’re not all bad. 🙂 I may have to check them out again when I need a new lens. Thanks for responding and sharing your experience! It’s good to hear from others.

Leave a Reply

