Capturing Family Cultures

Family portrait sessions are fun.  Unique personalities coming together to form their own family culture.  How to capture that uniqueness?  It can be a challenge, but it’s a good goal to have.

My style of family portraiture has changed quite a bit from how I used to shoot.  I used to have a more formal, posed style and I would often place family members at a distance from each other…the style and look was important to me.  But I think I lost something in the process.  I lost the focus on the relationships.  And that is where the change has come.  I find myself now really focusing on emphasizing the relationships within the families I photograph, and focusing on expressing their personalities.  So I find myself posing people closer together, having them touching, and even zooming in closer with my lens.  All these things help me better find the culture of each family, and hopefully express it well.  Of course, I love to break my own “rules”, so there’s always still room for some more formal shots, and those are beautiful too!

So here are some of my favourites from one of my recent family shoots…

One comment on “Capturing Family Cultures

Leave a Reply

