Country Living

Jet lag is nasty.  Did you know that?  My body does not respond well to travelling around the world.  It has now been almost 2 weeks since we arrived on this side of the world, and I am still adjusting to sleeping normally…at least sleeping during normal sleep hours.  My body seems to enjoy being awake for about 3 hours in the middle of the night…not so fun for the rest of me that is REALLY tired and would LOVE to be sleeping!  But I did travel from one side of the world to the other, so they say it takes time to adjust.  I’ll get there yet.

I haven’t posted any more pictures of our holiday time, but I will, I promise!  🙂  Stay tuned.  Life has been crazy busy here since we arrived, so my computer time has been very limited.

But today I thought I’d post a lovely prairie scene.  Typical August scenery in this part of the world.  We’re in full harvest mode here, so everywhere are combines, swathers, cut fields, and bales of hay.  In this photo you can see bales of hay lit by the lowering sun with a hot air balloon in the background.  The other shot is of foxtails…a very typical weed, really, but they’re actually quite pretty.  And as you can see, they grow in abundance here.  I even remember my cousin and I, when we were young,  pulling our wagon from house to house, asking all the neighbours if they wanted to buy some foxtails!  Young entrepreneurs we were! 🙂

Ahhh…it’s good to be home.  Surrounded by memories and the familiar.

We’ll see you soon!

Leave a Reply

