A Woman of Dignity

While we were in Desert City, we spent some time at one home in particular.  We had some previous connections with this family, and so they invited us to stay at their home for awhile and stay for lunch.  I was fascinated by the matriarch of the family.  She must have been in her 70’s or so and yet continued to work hard gardening, cooking, and taking care of the home and the grandkids who were visiting.  None of these tasks are easy ones in this hot, dry place, with limited conveniences.  She did all her cooking outside over a wood fire, but it was amazing to watch how efficient she was and how easy she made it look (I guess years of practice will do that!).  If I had to cook rice over a fire, I don’t think the results would be pretty!  While I was there, they were thatching the roof of a building, so she was out in the garden cutting down a corn-like plant that was being used as the thatching material.  What a woman!  But like any gardener, she proudly showed me her flowers, and wanted her picture taken amongst them.

The two things that struck me the most about her were her quiet dignity and her hands.  Her hands were strong…large for a woman’s, and in the West we would probably think they were not very feminine or attractive, but she moved them with such grace, and there was such determination and strength of character in her hands, that I couldn’t help but be drawn to them.

She was also a woman of great dignity.  She moved with a grace that spoke of self confidence and assurance.  She did not smile a lot, but there was a quiet acceptance about her that drew me to her.  She was a lovely woman and I felt like I learned a lot about how to be a woman of strength, dignity and self-confidence just by the few hours I spent with her.

Here are some of the images I took of her:

5 comments on “A Woman of Dignity

Leave a Reply

