Beijing

Sorry for the long absence from the blogging world!  It has not meant a lack of photography though!  Between doing some travelling, doing a photo shoot for some friends, and just being out and about exploring my city, I have done a fair bit of shooting over the past while.  Today though, I thought I would post some photos from a recent trip to Beijing.  I was privileged to get to fly out to Beijing to meet up with my sister in law who was there finalizing the adoption of their new baby boy!  It was so fun to catch up with her (it had been over 2 years since I had seen her!) and to meet their new sweet son.

On my last day there, I had some free time, so I decided to head to one of my favourite areas of Beijing…the Hutongs.  It is an area of old alleyways, courtyard homes, shops and cafes, all built around a beautiful lake…and all right in the middle of Beijing!  Some people think it is overly touristy and not all that authentic, but I love it. 🙂  It also sentimental value for me, as I first visited the area when we were there finalizing our OWN adoption five years ago!  Lots has changed in five years, and I was sad to see that it looks like they are tearing parts of the area down.  I hope they don’t get rid of it completely, as for me, and I’m sure for many others, it is an oasis in the middle of a busy, bustling city.

Here are some of my favourite shots from my afternoon there…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 comments on “Beijing

Leave a Reply

