Soul food

I have been on a cooking spree lately.  And when I say cooking, I don’t just mean “cooking”, like producing food, I mean cooking as in producing amazingly yummy, deliciously fantastic food (well, that’s the goal anyways…I don’t always meet the goal!).  I get bored easily.  I often don’t really like to cook.  So I have to keep it interesting for myself by changing it up and trying new things all the time.

My husband and I watched the movie “Julie and Julia” the other day (I know, we’re a little behind the times!), and ever since I have been inspired!  So, I went hunting online and found the bruschetta recipe from the movie (if you’ve seen the movie, you know what I’m talking about!).  It was AMAZING!  It tasted every bit as good as it looked on the movie.  Today I made it again, and decided to photograph some of it as I did.  I don’t have much experience photographing food, so I thought it would be a good chance to practice!

Living in Asia, we don’t have access to great bread (well, hardly any bread at all, actually), so I’ve been making my own and experimenting with different kinds and techniques.  The other day I made French bread for the first time, and today (well, today was the culmination of several days work) I made sourdough bread for the first time.  It was fantastic!  Here is a shout out to Mark Bittman, who is my FAVOURITE cookbook author ever!  His book, How to Cook Everything, is amazing.  I use it almost daily.  Especially for people living overseas, without access to alot of the convenience foods easily found in the West, his recipes are perfect.  He uses fresh ingredients, the preparations are relatively simple, quick and they taste fantastic.  So anyways, the bread recipes are thanks to Mark Bittman, and they taste like European bakery creations.  Yum.  The other plus we have is the amazingly tasty fresh produce we have access to here.  Like shopping at a farmer’s market, at a fraction of the price.

So here are the photos of the bruschetta in process, and the finished product.  Mouthwatering, satisfying, soul food.

Juicy, red, ripe tomatoes
Sourdough bread, fresh from the oven.

 

The finished product...it tasted as good as it looks!
2 comments on “Soul food

    • Hi there! Thanks for the compliment. I was happy with it too. The header was taken at a place called Karakul Lake, in western China. Beautiful spot…but freezing!!

Leave a Reply

